• Meet
  • Explore
  • Connect

Spirit of Cincinnati USA Award Categories

The Spirit of Cincinnati USA Awards are the highest honor bestowed by the Cincinnati Convention & Visitors Bureau. These awards recognize individuals and businesses in the region that are actively contributing to the success of the hospitality industry and moving Cincinnati forward as a travel and tourism destination!

slide one

Spirit of Cincinnati USA Awards

There are six Spirit Award categories for which individuals or organizations can be nominated. These awards recognize outstanding service and effort within the hospitality industry. Scroll through the following presentation to learn about each category.

slide one

Champion Award for Convention and Meeting Sales

Recognizes individuals or organizations that work closely with the CVB to bring important meetings and conventions to Cincinnati USA.

Past winners include Bill Donabedian (Brandemonium) and Cincinnati VA Medical Center (National Veterans Wheelchair Games).

slide one

Erich Kunzel Queen City Advocate

The Erich Kunzel Queen City Advocate Award recognizes an individual or organization that has played a key role in attracting positive media coverage of Cincinnati USA.
Past winners include BLINK Organizers, Fiona & the Cincinnati Zoo, Jeff Berding (FC Cincinnati), Bob Castellini (2015 MLB All-Star Game) and the Cincy in NYC.

slide one

Partnership Award

This award recognizes an individual or organization that partnered with the CVB and made significant contributions to the local meetings and tourism industry.
Past winners include CVG, Downtown Cincinnati Ambassadors, the Community Organizing Committee (MLB All-Star Game), Molly Wellmann and former Chief Jeffrey Blackwell (CPD).

slide one

Pinnacle Award for Outstanding Service

This award honors an individual on the front line of the hospitality industry who sets an example through excellent customer service and pride in the Cincinnati community. 
Past winners include Hugo Pabst (D. Burnham's), Norsius Nortila (Millennium Hotel Cincinnati) and Kathy Davis (Jeff Ruby' Steakhouse).

slide one

The Horace Sudduth Progressive Business Award

Recognizes businesses supporting the hospitality industry that contribute to diversity through leadership in areas like supplier diversity or workforce development programs.

Past winners include The Santangelo Group and WLWT-TV News 5.

slide one

Wendell P. Dabney Award for Diversity

This award recognizes an individual or organization that has diversified the hospitality industry.
Past winners include Toilynn O'Neal, Jim Obergefell, Jewish Federation of Cincinnati and Marian Spencer.